

GOVERNOR GREG ABBOTT

March 31, 2023

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

5: |5 Pm O'CLOCK

MAR 3 1 2023

Secretary of

The Honorable Jane Nelson Secretary of State State Capitol Room 1E.8 Austin, Texas 78701

Dear Secretary Nelson:

Pursuant to his powers as Governor of the State of Texas, Greg Abbott has issued the following:

A proclamation declaring and renewing a state of disaster in a certain number of counties based on the existence of serious drought conditions that pose an imminent threat of widespread or severe damage, injury, or loss of life or property.

The original proclamation is attached to this letter of transmittal.

Respectfully submitted,

Gregory S. Davidson

Executive Clerk to the Governor

GSD:gsd

Attachment

PROCLAMATION

BY THE

Governor of the State of Texas

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME:

WHEREAS, I, GREG ABBOTT, Governor of the State of Texas, issued a disaster proclamation on July 8, 2022, as amended and renewed in a number of subsequent proclamations, certifying that exceptional drought conditions posed a threat of imminent disaster in several counties; and

WHEREAS, the Texas Division of Emergency Management has confirmed that those same drought conditions continue to exist in these and other counties in Texas;

NOW, THEREFORE, in accordance with the authority vested in me by Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, I do hereby amend and renew the aforementioned proclamation and declare a disaster in Andrews, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bandera, Brooks, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Brown, Burnet, Caldwell, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Childress, Colorado, Collingsworth, Comal, Comanche, Coryell, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Dimmit, Duval, Eastland, Edwards, Erath, Falls, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Frio, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hamilton, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Howard, Hutchinson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Jones, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Kleberg, La Salle, Lipscomb, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Mason, Maverick, McLennan, Medina, Menard, Mills, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Real, Roberts, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Starr, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Travis, Uvalde, Webb, Wharton, Yoakum, Zapata, and Zavala Counties.

Pursuant to Section 418.017 of the Texas Government Code, I authorize the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster.

Pursuant to Section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, any regulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or any order or rule of a state agency that would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with this disaster shall be suspended upon written approval of the Office of the Governor. However, to the extent that the enforcement of any state statute or administrative rule regarding contracting or procurement would impede any state agency's emergency response that is necessary to protect life or property threatened by this declared disaster, I hereby authorize the suspension of such statutes and rules for the duration of this declared disaster.

In accordance with the statutory requirements, copies of this proclamation shall be filed with the applicable authorities.



IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and have officially caused the Seal of State to be affixed at my office in the City of Austin, Texas, this the 31st day of March, 2023.

& ahhar

GREG ABBOTT

Governor

ATTESTED BY:

JANE NELSON Secretary of State

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

5:15Pm O'CLOCK

MAR 3 1 2023