

STATE OF TEXAS EVICTION DIVERSION PROGRAM

Emergency rental assistance for tenants and landlords from the Texas Eviction Diversion Program is available now to stop evictions. Landlords get paid, eviction is dismissed and tenant stays housed!

Who qualifies?

Texas tenants behind on their rent due to the COVID-19 pandemic and facing eviction. Both tenant and landlord must participate and meet the requirements on the back of this page.

What does the program offer?

Up to 15 months of rental and utility assistance for eligible tenants and their landlords.

How does the program help landlords, tenants, and our Texas communities?

- Allows courts to pause eviction cases while tenant and landlord apply for assistance.
- Makes lump sum payments to landlords for past-due rent and late fees for allowing tenants to remain in their homes.
- Keeps evictions off tenants' records.

How do I apply?

- Review the requirements on the back of this page. Both landlord and tenant must agree to participate.
- At eviction hearing, tenant and landlord should tell the judge they want eviction paused to pursue rent assistance through the Texas Eviction Diversion Program.
- Tenant and landlord submit application online (TexasRentRelief.com) or by phone (833-9TX-RENT). Application can also be submitted before eviction hearing.

April 21, 2021

For Information and to Apply



TexasRentRelief.com

TEXAS EVICTION DIVERSION PROGRAM (TEDP) GUIDELINES

Tenant and Landlord both apply online (TexasRentRelief.com) or by phone (833-9TX-RENT) If application is eligible and complete, payment to landlord is generally within 14 days.

LANDLORD / UNIT	TENANT / HOUSEHOLD
 Eligibility Requirements: Assistance for rent and reasonable late fees (stemming from non-payment of rent) no older than March 13, 2020 Must have a bank account and complete online steps to accept direct deposit payment via Bill.com when prompted 	 Eligibility Requirements: Household has been sued for eviction from primary residence located in Texas Household has eviction court docket number Household income is at or below 80% of Area Median Income (limits available by county at TexasRentRelief.com) Household member certifies one of the following: They have qualified for unemployment benefits on or after March 13, 2020 OR Due to or during the pandemic they have: Experienced a reduction in household income, Incurred significant costs, or Experienced financial hardship Household must do one of the following: Provide an eviction notice or past-due utility or rent notice; OR Certify that unless they receive rental assistance, they would have to move to an unsafe/unhealthy environment like a shared living situation or emergency shelter
 Documents and Information Needed: Government-issued or personal ID (only if individual/sole proprietor) Lease agreement (or if no lease agreement, landlord must provide the lease term and amount of monthly rent and certify the information provided is true) Completed IRS Form W-9 ACH Deposit Information 	 Documents and Information Needed: Government-issued or personal ID for one person on the lease Lease agreement (or if no lease, rent receipt or other proof of payment for the three most recent complete months paid) Court docket number, Justice of the Peace precinct, and county Past due utility bill(s), if utility assistance is being requested
 You will be required to certify you: Will waive fees or penalties not covered by the Texas Rent Relief program, and not pass court costs on to the tenant Have not received assistance from another program for the same months of rent for this household and will not apply in the future for the covered months Will release the tenant from payment liability for this time period, waive all claims raised in the eviction case, and not evict the tenant for the period covered by the Texas Rent Relief program Will reimburse the Texas Rent Relief program within 10 business days if you receive rent payment for this same unit and time period 	 You will be required to certify you: Have a household income at or below 80% of Area Median Income (limits available by county at TexasRentRelief.com) Have not received rental assistance for the same months of rent or the rental assistance received was less than the full amount owed, and will not seek such assistance in the future for the covered months Will reimburse the Texas Rent Relief program within 10 business days if you receive other rent or utility payment assistance for this same time period

Administration (OCA), and the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) and part of the Texas Rent Relief (TRR) Program.

For Questions on Program Eligibility, Application, Reasonable Accommodation Requests: TexasRentRelief.com | 833-9TX-RENT / 833-989-7368

For Questions on Court Process: txcourts.gov/eviction-diversion | 855-270-7655 (Texas Legal Service Center)

