Office of the Governor - Greg Abbott

Governor Abbott Appoints Eight To One Call Board Of Texas

Monday, March 13, 2017  •  Austin, Texas  •  Appointment
Learn more about:
Governor's Initiatives »

Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed Jason Hartgraves and Janie Walenta, and appointed Jesus Antonio Garza and James Schneider to the One Call Board of Texas for terms set to expire on August 31, 2018. Additionally, he reappointed Barry Calhoun, and appointed Roberto De Leon, Jeff Carroll, and Senaida “Sandy” Galvan for terms set expire on August 31, 2019. The board has authority over “Call Before You Dig” systems that notify the underground facility operators for excavation plans so pipelines and utility lines can be marked to prevent accidents.

Jason Hartgraves of Frisco is an Assistant Chief of the Dallas County Sheriff’s Department. He is a member of the Dallas County Sheriff’s Association, International Association of Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors, Texas Municipal Police Association and formerly served on the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority. He is a former member Frisco Charter Review Commission, and Frisco Social Services and Housing Board. Hartgraves is a graduate of the FBI National Academy and received a Bachelor of Arts in criminal justice from Dallas Baptist University and a Master of Science in management from Texas A&M University Commerce.

Janie Walenta of Quitman is a retired telecommunications manager. She is a former volunteer of Quitman Public Library. Walenta received a Bachelor of Business Administration in business management from The University of Texas at Austin and a Master of Business Administration in business management from the University of Dallas.

Jesus Antonio Garza of Kingsville is the City Manager for the City of Kingsville. He is a member of the Texas City Management Association, International Hispanic Network, and International City Management Association and of the International Economic Development Council. Additionally, he is a board member of JOVEN Youth Organization San Antonio, and a member of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America. Garza received a Bachelor of Arts in political science from St. Mary’s University, a Master of Public Administration in urban management from St. Mary’s University, and a Graduate Certificate in urban and regional planning from the University of Texas at San Antonio.

James Schneider of Austin is the president of J.R. Schneider Construction, Inc. He is a member of the Associated Builders and Contractors of Texas, Texas A&M Association of Former Students and the Earth Moving Contractors of Texas. Schneider received a Bachelor of Science in construction from Texas A&M University.

Barry Calhoun of Richardson is the director of mobilization and a church planting associate for the Southern Baptists of Texas Convention. He is a member of the Hope Clinic in Garland Advisory Board and the Grow Gospel Initiative Board. Calhoun received a Bachelor of Arts and Science in Christian ministry from Dallas Baptist University, and a Master of Arts in Christian leadership and education from Criswell College.

Roberto De Leon of Corpus Christi is a region support manager for AEP Texas. He is a campaign coordinator for AEP Texas in their participation with the United Way. De Leon received a Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting from Texas A&M University Corpus Christi.

Jeff Carroll of Austin is the director of field operations for Charter Communications. Carroll received an Associate of Applied Science and Electronics from Odessa College.

Senaida “Sandy” Galvan of San Antonio is a retired school administrator and a partner at Ardaga and Associates. She is an active community volunteer. Galvan received a Bachelor of Science in education from Our Lady of the Lake University and a Master of Arts in leadership, administration and counseling from The University of Texas at San Antonio.