Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

Texas born or based members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame include various country, soul and rock musicians. Fourteen inductees of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at one time in their life called Texas home.

For a complete list of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees, please visit

Charles Brown (1999)
Charlie Christian (1990)
The Crickets (2012)
King Curtis (2000)
Woody Guthrie (1988)
The Eagles (Don Henley) (1998)
Buddy Holly (1986)
Janis Joplin (1995)
Freddie King (2012)
Lead Belly (1988)
Roy Orbison (1987)
Jimmie Rodgers (1986)
The Soul Stirrers (1989)
Crosby, Stills & Nash (Stephen Stills) (1997)
Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble (2014)
T-Bone Walker (1987)
Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys (1999)
ZZ Top (2004)

To suggest that a particular Texan be considered for inclusion in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, please write a letter to:

Nominating Committee
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation
1290 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10104

Note: no email is available. Click here for more info.

Please provide the Texas Music Office with a copy of the letter so we can add each suggested Texan's name to this website.

Possible Rock & Roll Hall inductees from Texas include:

Milton Brown
Roky Erickson / 13th Floor Elevators
Freddy Fender
Sam "Lightnin'" Hopkins
Waylon Jennings
Willie Nelson
Doug Sahm
Joe Tex
Ernest Tubb