Medals of Arts Honorees and Texas State Musicians

National Medal of Arts
The National Medal of Arts is awarded by the President of the United States to individuals or groups who, in his judgment, "...are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to the excellence, growth, support and availability of the arts in the United States."

National Medal of Arts Honorees from Texas in the field of music:
Van Cliburn (2010)
Carlisle Floyd (2004)
Austin City Limits (2003)
George Strait (2003)
George Jones (2002)
Lydia Mendoza (1999)
Bess Lomax Hawes (1993)
Alan Lomax (1986)

National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters:
Ornette Coleman (1984)
Hubert Laws (2011)
Cedar Walton (2010)
Teddy Wilson (1986)

National Endowment for the Arts National Heritage Fellowships:
Pedro Ayala (1988)
Jim "Texas Shorty" Chancellor (2010)
Antonio De La Rosa (1998)
Manuel "Cowboy" Donley (2014)
Johnny Gimble (1994)
Leonardo "Flaco" Jiménez (2012)
Santiago Jimenez, Jr. (2000)
Valerio Longoria (1986)
Narcisco Martinez (1983)
Lydia Mendoza (1982)
Alex Moore, Sr. (1987)
Joe Willie "Pinetop" Perkins (2000)
Buck Ramsey (1995)
Domingo "Mingo" Saldivar (2002)
Don Walser (2000)

For more information about the National Medal of Arts, the Jazz Masters Fellowship, and the National Heritage Fellowships awarded by the National Endowment for the Arts, please visit:

Texas Medal of Arts
The Texas Medal of Arts Award spotlights and celebrates the creative excellence, exemplary talents and outstanding contributions by Texans in selected categories, ultimately featuring the best in Texas. The Awards honor citizens who have achieved greatness through their creative talents as well as those whose philanthropic generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages. The Texas Medal of Arts Awards accents and exposes the power of the arts to our children's education, to our State's economy, and to our proud and special Texas culture.

Texas Medal of Arts Honorees in the field of music:
Ray Benson (2011)
Barbara Conrad (2011)
Austin City Limits (2009)
Betty Buckley (2009)
Clint Black (2009)
James Dick (2009)
Ornette Coleman (2007)
Vikki Carr (2005)
Lyle Lovett (2005)
Lydia Mendoza (2003)
Steve Miller (2013)
Charley Pride (2003)
Van Cliburn (2001)
Flaco Jimenez & Santiago Jimenez, Jr. (2001)
Willie Nelson (2001)

Awards are presented by the Texas Cultural Trust Council, which was created by H.B. 2223 during the 73rd Legislature, a private non-profit organization created to raise dollars from the private sector for the Texas Commission on the Arts and other governmental agencies with a focus on arts education. For more information about the Texas Medal of Arts, please visit:

Texas State Musicians
The designation of Texas state musician was created by S.B. 1043 during the 77th Legislature. Texas state musicians are selected for years of excellence and dedicated commitment to the arts in Texas. Nominees must be native Texans or five-year residents of the state. They must have received recognition for high levels of excellence and success in their respective disciplines. They also must have received critical reviews in state, regional or national publications. Appointment terms are one year in length.

The following artists have been selected as Texas state musicians:
Flaco Jimenez (2014)
Craig Hella Johnson (2013)
Billy F. Gibbons (2012)
Lyle Lovett (2011)
Sara Hickman (2010)
Willie Nelson (2009)
Shelley King (2008)
Dale Watson (2007)
Billy Joe Shaver (2006)
Johnny Gimble (2005)
Ray Benson (2004)
James Dick (2003)